I. Horbachevsky Ternopil National Medical University
To be friends with sports is to be healthy!
116 17.02.2022

After the lifting of quarantine restrictions due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the winners of the traditional online chess tournaments of I. Horbachevsky Ternopil National Medical University “TNMU Arena” were awarded on February 8, 2021.

Professor Mykhailo Korda, the Rector of TNMU, congratulated the students and presented the awards: “I wish you further victories, good games and, most importantly, I hope that the tournament will continue to unite our chess players. I want our students, young talents to have the opportunity to constantly improve their game and enjoy participating in chess battles.”

Mykhailo Yakymchuk, an intern dentist, won in the online tournament TNMU ARENA, which took place on November 15, 2020; Oleksandr Ivaniuk, a fifth-year student of the Faculty of Medicine was the second; Ibrahim Ibikunle, second-year student of the International Students Faculty – the third.

On April 11, 2021 in the game “Chess Spring 2021 Arena” Olexandr Ivaniuk (group MM-507) was the first, Mikhailo Yakymchuk (intern dentist) – the second; Muhammad Talha (group IM 230) – the third.

According to the results of the online tournament “Chess winter 2021 Arena”, which took place on December 2, 2021, the prizes were taken by:

1st prize – Maxym Derlytsia, a second-year student of the Faculty of Medicine;

2nd prize – Ibrahim Ibikunle, a third-year student of the International Students Faculty,

3rd place – Shubham Samrat, a first-year student of the Faculty of Medicine.

Oleksandr Ivaniuk, a sixth-year medical student (MM-607), said he had been playing chess since school.

“The winner is the one who thinks strategically, thinks ahead and sees combinations that others do not see. I am sure that the skills gained during the games help me become a good, attentive doctor in the future. I am glad and grateful to our management and organizers for the opportunity to improve our skills within our university,” said Olexandr.

We congratulate the winners and recognise all the participants for joining the tournaments.

Solomiia Hnatyshyn, TNMU Journalist

Photos by the author